Camp MMW in Jazz Times Magazine

 

Photo used in Jazz Times Article

Medeski, Martin & Wood’s Camp MMW

An “anti-camp” focuses on big-picture stuff

Click on the link above to read the article in Jazz Times Magazine to see how well Evan Haga captured the vibe from Camp MMW 2011.

I know it’s a hard thing to do, I’ve done nearly 30 entries in this blog, experienced two full weeks at camp over the last 3 years and I still feel as if I only scratched the surface in explaining what experiences at Camp MMW are really like. For a journalist to come into that environment on the final days of camp and try to grab hold of what was truly going on is extremely challenging. In my humble opinion, he did a great job expressing his first impressions of what life at camp MMW is like and beginning to grasp what it means to the return campers who come back year after year.

On the final day of camp I grabbed Evan’s business card so I could send him photos to use for the article as well as direct him to this blog.  Since he didn’t get many photos while there, he used one of the photos (pictured above) that I sent him  for the header of the article. Since I am featured in the picture it’s obvious that I was not the photographer (it was either Doug Cox, Ben Holzman, or Bob or Jessica Basil) but nonetheless, I got the credit for it!! I think it’s a great shot of me, Ericka Rosenburg and the excellent piano and guitar player (whose name I can’t recall right now but do remember that he was built like a linebacker) and Billy Martin during our student performance that brought the fuckin house down!

Also baritone sax player John Korchak has a great quote in there that articulately encapsulates the overall experience and curriculum at Camp MMW. Well said John!

I would have liked to hear a little more about the intensity and intimacy of the nightly MMW performances as well as the collaboration involved in putting together the Student Ensembles as I see those two aspects as the cornerstones that make camp so incredible and rewarding. In addition, the camaraderie that campers experience during and after camp wasn’t touched on. The relationships spawned during camp could easily encapsulate a completely new 2,000 word article but I do have to remind myself that Evan can’t go into depth into every aspect of camp as he is most likely working within a limitation of words. I would have spoken more about the shellfish dinner that we received on the final night of camp but the fact that he mentioned the food at all was probably all he could squeeze in.

All in all it’s great to see Camp MMW get some ink. It’s about time the rest of the world gets hip to the value and richness of Camp MMW! Thank you Evan Haga, it was great having you there with us and I wish you all the best as you continue your writing.

About campmmwblog

I've been playing electric bass for just over 17 years now. I live in Greenpoint Brooklyn and have so for the last 5 years. My musical fervor and inspiration have slowed a little (which is one of the reasons I'm sooooo looking forward to Camp MMW) but since the New Year I have been experimenting heavily with writing, specifically blogging. I had the idea to document the events leading up to Camp MMW 2011. Once I found out the team at MMW Headquarters was cool with it, I set up this blog. Enjoy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

