Back from Vacay, now it’s time to start playing Music!

I got back from 2 weeks of visiting family and friends in Seattle on Tuesday. The trip was great and extremely relaxing. Now I’m back in Brooklyn and find myself trying to recapture the magical feeling and motivation that embodied me as I left the Full Moon Resort one month ago.

I’m not sure where I want my musical career to go from here but what I do know is that I want to play music with gifted musicians on the regular. I really don’t care much about playing gigs in the city or making money nor gaining popularity, I just want to play. I just want to improvise. Spontaneous composition is my new focus and if anyone in New York City or any of it’s outlying neighborhoods feel the same, please hit me up. I’d love to get together and feel the magic of having a conversation through my instrument with others. 

As well, I’d love to hear what my fellow campers have been up to since our magical experiences together. Please drop me a line and share with me and the rest of the followers of this blog how Camp MMW has affected your playing and where you are taking that inspiration.

From this point forward I want this blog to be much more interactive so please don’t be shy, subscribe to the blog and don’t be afraid to leave comments. And PLEASE, if any one of you find yourself  in New York please let me know and we will get together for a jam session or at least for a drink. I look forward to continuing my pursuit of spontaneous composition and hearing all about all of yours! Best of luck to you all, hope to hear from you soon.

About campmmwblog

I've been playing electric bass for just over 17 years now. I live in Greenpoint Brooklyn and have so for the last 5 years. My musical fervor and inspiration have slowed a little (which is one of the reasons I'm sooooo looking forward to Camp MMW) but since the New Year I have been experimenting heavily with writing, specifically blogging. I had the idea to document the events leading up to Camp MMW 2011. Once I found out the team at MMW Headquarters was cool with it, I set up this blog. Enjoy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back from Vacay, now it’s time to start playing Music!

  1. Lee Kirkpatrick says:

    Hey Colin,
    Man, I hear you when you say “Spontaneous composition is my new focus….” The problem now, of course, is figuring out how to find the right people and the right situations to be able to do so.
    For me, as it turns out, one of the (just-for-fun) bands that I play with was going through some personnel transitions right around Camp time: We’d just had our last play night with the old line-up, and I returned from camp looking forward to the first night with the new line-up. The first night we got together with the new group, everyone (knowing about my recent camp experience) was fully expecting it when I requested that we start out with a “spontaneous composition.” So, of course, we did. Before we started, I simply offered a few general suggestions: (1) be patient, (2) feel free to leave space, (3) LISTEN!, and (4) create a form with a beginning, a middle, and an end. We then soared through a 13-minute spontaneous composition that was WAY WAY better than it had any business being, given that it was the first time we had ever played together as a group. (If you’d like to hear it, I’ll be happy to send you an mp3 recording. It’ll never make it on an album, but it definitely captures the right spirit if not all the right execution…..) Although this band will probably remain mainly song-based — though with lots of room for improvised instrumentals — it definitely promises to be a good outlet for me.
    I keep thinking about how awesome it would be if our mutual buddy Erika would move back here to Virginia (or I to the Bay area)…..
    –Lee

    • campmmwblog says:

      LEE!! Perfect, this is what I’m talking about! Thanks for leaving this post, I want to hear more about these kinds of these post-camp experiences. I would love to hear that mp3, you can mail it to colinperceful@yahoo.com. I’m so glad to hear that the effects of camp are already helping you and the people you play music with. And yes, it would be great if we all lived a little closer but you know what, we have all established relationships with great musicians both far and away and at some point down the line, those relationships will come to fruition. Thanks for reading and thanks for posting Lee, great to hear from you!

      • Lee Kirkpatrick says:

        Yeah man. Will send the mp3. Also, for a great demonstration of “spontaneous composition,” check out this session with Julie Slick (my current fave bassist), brother Eric on drums, and Tim Motzer:
        http://1ksessions.webillishus.com/
        You have to register for the site first, but it’s free — and there’s a lot of other great music there too…

Leave a Reply

