The Return

It has been three days since my return to New York City from the peace and serenity of the Catskill Mountains and most importantly, my return from Camp MMW. I’m overwhelmed with thoughts, finding myself at a loss to find the right words to describe this year’s experience.  Many profound experiences; not only interacting with MMW, but Medeski, Perceful, Martin and Woodalso spending time with their families and with my fellow campers come at me throughout my time at work.  The experience of hanging out with and learning from the special guests Bob Moses, Vernon Reid, and Bashir Attar was inspiring. Being able to see each one of them perform with MMW was mind-blowing!  Camp MMW once again exceeded my expectations. Often times it seemed as if the band was having just as much fun as the campers themselves.

Professor Illy BAs things begin to fall back a familiar routine here in Brooklyn, I remind myself that I need to continue to discipline myself and practice the things that were preached all week-long: “Space is the place,” “Breath with your solo,” “It’s all about the whole,” “Listen to one another,” “If you want it, you will got it!”

One thing that I know for sure, Chris Wood, Billy Martin and John Medeski are all master musicians and some of the coolest people I have ever met. I strive to match the expertise that each one of them possesses, not only as musicians but as human beings as well. Each and every one of them (and the members of their team, i.e. Liz, Kenny, Mike, Jed and Hyun) are all very kind and genuine people. In the following weeks I will relay to you all the musical lessons that we learned, the experiences that we shared, the meals that we ate and the memories that I covet. For now, I want to leave it at this:

The experience at Camp MMW 2011 was truly magical. I hope that the happiness and knowledge that MMW bestowed upon me stays with me for years and years to come. I feel truly blessed to be involved in this experience. Thank you to the whole MMW team. Life at camp is like a fantasy camp and I cherish every minute of it. You are doing an incredible thing here and I hope you can keep it going for many years to come.

About campmmwblog

I've been playing electric bass for just over 17 years now. I live in Greenpoint Brooklyn and have so for the last 5 years. My musical fervor and inspiration have slowed a little (which is one of the reasons I'm sooooo looking forward to Camp MMW) but since the New Year I have been experimenting heavily with writing, specifically blogging. I had the idea to document the events leading up to Camp MMW 2011. Once I found out the team at MMW Headquarters was cool with it, I set up this blog. Enjoy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Return

  1. Thanks for posting, Colin. It was great meeting you, and jamming with you, out there.

Leave a Reply

